Select Page
Select Page

Chapters - Western Pacific

The Western Pacific Chapter was launched at the Annual ISoP Meeting in Bournemouth, UK in October 2007.
ISoP Chapters Western Pacific

Western Pacific Chapter Webinar

Hidden and Taboo: Endometriosis and Pelvic Organ Prolapse
Wednesday 2 March 2022 – 18.00 to 19.00 AEST (07.00 UTC) (via ISoP Zoom platform)

In collaboration with the Women’s Medicines Special Interest Group.
Flyer | here
This webinar is for members only.

Welcome to the ISoP Western Pacific Chapter

Kia ora tātou – hello everyone!
Welcome to the website for the International Society of Pharmacovigilance (ISoP) Western Pacific Chapter.
This provides a brief introduction to our Chapter. We hope that existing Western Pacific Chapter members will find this information useful, and that you will contribute your suggestions. Also, we extend a warm invitation to new and existing members of ISoP who are from countries in the Western Pacific region to join us and participate in sharing pharmacovigilance experiences and expertise, and contributing to pharmacovigilance and Western Pacific chapter activities in this region. If you are not a member of ISoP, and would like to join, please contact ISoP administration.

About the Western Pacific Chapter

At the ISoP Annual Meeting in Liege in October 2006, delegates from New Zealand, the Philippines and Australia discussed the possibility of establishing a regional Chapter of ISoP. Subsequently, it was decided that this Chapter should include members from the countries in the WHO Western Pacific region (Table 1). The Western Pacific Chapter was formally launched at the Annual ISoP Meeting in Bournemouth, UK in October 2007. The first co-ordinator of the Western Pacific Chapter was Dr Mira Harrison-Woolrych, former Director of the New Zealand Intensive Medicines Monitoring Programme (IMMP), with Dr Suzette Lazo, former President of the Philippine Society of Experimental and Clinical Pharmacology, as Secretary of the Chapter. Dr Ian Boyd became Acting Co-ordinator in 2014, and from 2016-2019, Dr Richard Hill (Therapeutic Goods Administration, Australia) was Chapter Co-ordinator, with Dr Ian Boyd as Chapter Secretary. From 2020, Associate Professor Jo Barnes (University of Auckland, New Zealand) became Chapter Co-ordinator, with Libano Dias (Australia) as Chapter Secretary.

Aims and Objectives

Coming soon … please let us know your suggestions!

Table 1: Countries included in the WHO Western Pacific Region

  • American Samoa
  • Australia*
  • Brunei Darussalam*
  • Cambodia*
  • Cook Islands
  • Fiji
  • French Polynesia
  • Guam
  • Hong Kong (China)*
  • Japan*
  • Kiribati
  • Korea, Republic of*
  • Lao People’s Democratic Republic Tonga Macao (China)
  • Malaysia*
  • Myanmar*
  • Marshall Islands
  • Micronesia, Federated States of
  • Nauru
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand*
  • Niue
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines*
  • Pitcairn Islands
  • Samoa
  • Singapore*
  • Solomon Islands
  • Taiwan*
  • Thailand*
  • Tokelau
  • Tonga*
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu
  • Vietnam
  • Wallis and Futuna

* Countries with current ISoP members
ISoP members in Taiwan and Thailand have also been included in the Western Pacific Chapter.

Anyone interested in joining the Western Pacific Chapter is invited to contact ISoP Administration.

ISoP Western Pacific Chapter

Mira Harrison-Woolrych, first coordinator of the Western Pacific Chapter, during the 7th ISoP Annual Meeting

Advisory Board

Appointed 2019

Associate Professor
Jo Barnes
School of Pharmacy, University of Auckland, New Zealand

Libano Dias